Organization Obsession: Cosmetics

Two weeks ago, I reorganized my makeup stash. I needed to come up with a system that does not take up a lot of space so that TF will have space for his own items when he eventually moves in. Also, I did not want to buy a new dresser since I’m still not sure how my future home is going to look like.

Our future home is a 4-room flat and I’m trying to convince TF to convert one of the rooms into a closet but I’m not getting very far in that discussion. He needs an office since he works a lot when he returns home (I swear he works 20 hours a day) so I forsee that being a priority. I did try to suggest an office cum closet but I have no idea how that will work out in reality. I don’t want him working in a cluttered environment, surrounded by all my clothes.

Anyway, since I did not want to buy any major furniture, I had to settle with small organizational items. My previous makeup system was basically having most of my makeup stored in a drawer in my dresser (now I know I have a lot of makeup–I went through a phase 1-2 years ago when I shopped only for makeup and nothing else). The dresser was my older sisters and I won’t be taking it with me when I move (since hello, it’s not mine).

Makeup Mess

So this was my old system–pink & clear containers from Daiso and the clear acrylic tray (on the right) from Ikea. I kept most of my blushes in their boxes so I could read the names and pick out the ones I wanted. My palettes were stored in my cupboard so I tend not to use them when getting dressed since they were not easily reached.

I spent a lot of time on youtube trying to figure out the best possible way to reorganize my makeup such that everything will be in one place. And finally, I found these 5-drawer acrylic cases from Muji:

Muji 5-drawer Acrylic Case

These were simply perfect–they cost $39 each. I can use them in my new house eventually to store makeup or jewellery or even stationery.

Initially I bought 2 sets of these drawers and a 1-drawer set but I ended up returning the 1-drawer set and purchased another of the 5-drawer set so I now have 3. They sit perfectly on my dresser.

New dresser tabletop

I placed my makeup brushes, and some Disney items from Disneyworld on top of one set. Atop the center set, has all my perfumes (some are actually empty but I still keep them). And lastly, on the right side are all my lotions, creams etc. In front, I just place a diary and notepad–I’ve not figured out what to do with those yet–which I bought from Kikki K last week during the sale.

These drawers will eventually–in my new house– house my makeup and will sit atop my future dresser. And since they’re clear, I don’t have to worry about how they will look with the rest of the furniture. They were certainly not cheap but according to reviews online, they last a long time–they’re made from strong acrylic.

Blushes & Bronzers

Mac (Eyeshadows & Blushes/MSFs)

Lipsticks & Lipglosses

This new system allows me to see all the colors of my eyeshadows, blushes and lipglosses–it prevents me from leaving some makeup unused and forgotten since I can see everything. The rest of the items are stored in my drawer but they now also store all my palettes, nail polishes, hair accessories and bracelets. I managed to free up 2 drawers in my cupboard as a result.

Palettes, nail polishes, hair accessories and more

When TF moves in, I’ll throw the empty perfume bottles and let him put his everyday body/facial products on top of the acrylic drawers (he doesn’t have many). I still have to reorganize my closet but I like the progress thus far. Even though the wedding (and his moving in) is still more than 9 months away, I prefer to reorganize my room slowly. This way I get to be more meticulous and the smaller details are taken care of. I’m also weeding out items that can be stored in my storeroom to make way for TF’s arrival next year.

Tagged , , ,

7 thoughts on “Organization Obsession: Cosmetics

  1. budziak says:

    WOW. That is an extensive collection and unlike many I’ve seen I love the way yours is organized. I think I might just have to go to my Daiso and find those clear drawers! The see through aspect is awesome. There’s tons of times when I don’t use something because I can’t see it. As for the closet/office, you can put up a curtain covering part of the room over your closet space, although I’m sure this would make the room seem smaller…

    • BeckyBenett says:

      The drawers are from Muji! If they were from Daiso, I’d absolutely die (seeing as they would only cost $4 as opposed to $39). Yup, I found that the clear drawers are amazing because you can see everything you have; it works great with Mac eyeshadows, blushes and msfs!
      Thanks for the suggestion! I’ll definitely consider it but it would certainly make the room smaller. Luckily, I have tons of time to figure stuff out. =)

  2. Dyan says:

    Just like you, i went thru a phase where i solely buy makeup and nothing else and moved into my new place with lots of Makeup and Nailpolishes, it drove my husband craaaazy!
    I have since thrown out some of my makeup stuff which i rarely used (which is not that much actually) and i still occupy three drawers of my dresser. hahaha

    • BeckyBenett says:

      It can get addictive right? I just love staring at my rows of blushes and lipsticks. I’m sure some people would find that weird.
      Since most of my makeup are still new (1-2 years), I keep most of them. I only throw out items like mascara which dries up. I’m not sure how I’m going to store my makeup in my new house so that will certainly be interesting! Three drawers?! Awesome!

  3. […] products, and was super excited when they said it was fine. If you can’t tell from my earlier post, I love makeup! I’ve been good about it though and have not purchased anything since last […]

Leave a Reply

